top of page

BRUTALISM MORPHISM

In my research experiments with AI generated art on the Midjourney platform - where images are generated from the input of keywords by artificial intelligence algorithms - I came up with the topic of reusing the results.

 

In this series, brutalism and parametric design meet the expansion of own graphic elements that come from the Multimorphism series and are mixed with the artificial images.

"Brutalism Morphism" shows fictional architecture scenarios, based on Bauhaus, utopia and dystopian urbanity - paired with linear repetitive vector graphics, which enter into a symbiosis with the architecture through post-processing and thus turn previously artificially generated images into real offline one-offs.

The series is based on a special digital-analogue technique in which the illustrations are transferred to Polaroid photos. These, in turn, are literally broken down into their individual components by hand and separate the photo film from its front and back coating. The exposed film can be transferred to watercolor paper through a heat and cold basin and rearranged with a brush and blower.

The result is an image of the digital variant with its own unique charm and spatial depth. Wrinkles and tears in the film can be specifically arranged and make the Polaroid transfers look really old.

The transfer of the gel film to paper under the influence of the heat-cold basin makes the Polaroid on paper up to two centimeters larger than its digital counterpart. This creates a unique series that, with the help of artificial intelligence, creates something new that has existed for a long time outside of the digital computer world.

POLA-INTRO.jpg
bottom of page

top of page

BRUTALISM MORPHISM

In meinen Forschungsexperimenten mit AI generierter Kunst auf der Midjourney Plattform - bei der Bilder aus der Eingabe von Schlagwörtern durch künstliche Intelligenz Algorhythmen generiert werden - kam ich auf das Thema der Weiterverwendung der Ergebnisse.

 

Brutalismus und parametrisches Design treffen in dieser Serie auf die Erweiterung durch eigene Grafikelemente, die aus der Multimorphism-Serie stammen und mit den künstlichen Bildern gemixt werden. 

"Brutalism Morphism" zeigt fiktive Architektur Szenarios, angelehnt an Bauhaus, Utopia und dystopische Urbanität - gepaart mit linearen repetativen Vektorgrafiken, die durch Nachbearbeitung eine Symbiose mit der Architektur eingehen und dadurch zuvor künstlich erzeugte Bilder zu wirklichen Offline-Unikaten werden lassen.

Die Serie basiert auf einer speziellen digital-analogen Technik, bei der die Illustrationen auf Polaroid-Fotos übertragen werden. Diese wiederum werden in Handarbeit wortwörtlich in die einzelnen Bestandteile zerlegt und trennen den Fotofilm von seiner vorder- und rückseitigen Beschichtung. Durch ein Hitze- und Kältebecken ist der belichtete Film auf Aquarellpapier transferierbar und wird durch Pinsel und Pusten neu arrangiert.

Das Resultat ist ein Abbild der digitalen Variante mit ganz eigenem Charme und räumlicher Tiefe. Faltenwürfe und Risse im Film sind gezielt arrangierbar und lassen die Polaroid Transfers wirklich alt aussehen.

Durch den Transfer des Gel-Films auf Papier unter Einwirkung der Hitze-Kälte-Becken wird das Polaroid auf Papier um bis zu zwei Zentimeter größer als das digitale Pendant. Damit entsteht eine Unikat-Serie, die mit Hilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz etwas Neus schafft, was ausserhalb der digitalen Computerwelt langfristig bestand hat

POLA-INTRO.jpg
bottom of page